Accused of Assault? Here’s How a Criminal Attorney Can Help

accused of assault? Being accused of assault in the state of New Jersey is a serious charge. Though there are varying degrees of severity in different charges that can be filed against you, in all cases you will be open to financial penalties as well as time in prison or on probation. It is essential that you give yourself the benefit of a competent and experienced attorney to provide you with the best possible legal defense against these charges. Richard M. Josselson has a 39-year record of successfully defending clients charged with a wide range of criminal offenses. He can provide you with the knowledgeable, aggressive defense that you need.

In the state of New Jersey, you can be charged with assault and battery in a number of ways and levels of seriousness. These include:

  • Simple Assault – A simple assault is a misdemeanor offense in the state of New Jersey, but that does not mean that it is something to be taken lightly. The charge can be made against you even if you have simply threatened somebody or instilled fear of bodily harm in them, as well as if you actually attempted to cause them bodily harm. A simple assault charge can be filed if you have recklessly injured another person too. In all cases, the penalty can include up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $1,000.
  • Battery – Being charged with battery involves touching another person when they did not want to be touched. The charge can be filed for something as minor as pushing or shoving. Unlike simple assault, for a battery charge to be filed against you there must have actually been physical contact with a person, or something that they are wearing or holding. That means that even if you grabbed a person’s shirt or handbag, you can be charged.
  • Aggravated Assault – An aggravated assault is the most serious type of assault charge that can be filed against a defendant. It involves not only the elements of a simple assault, but also the infliction of serious or significant injury. The charge can be made more complex if a weapon was involved or if the defendant displayed a lack of concern towards human life. Additional elements that make a charge more serious include whether the person who was injured was a police officer or other type of public servant, and the penalties for aggravated assault can go as high as ten years in prison and fines up to $150,000.

Whether you believe that the charges against you are warranted or not, it is important that you have a professional and knowledgeable defense lawyer working on your behalf. Call Josselson Law today to set up a convenient appointment to discuss your case.

Latest News

Signs Your Co-worker May Be Too Impaired to Drive

Thanksgiving is nearly upon us, and that means that the company holiday party season is right around the corner. These get togethers are a great time to celebrate a successful year, to recognize accomplishments and to look forward to what the new year will hold. Unfortunately, on far too many…

Read More